Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Untitled

Posted by telecommatt on December 26, 2006

55

Wisdom Publications :: Mindful Politics : A Buddhist Guide to Making the World a Better Place : Melvin McLeod :56

Mindful Politics A Buddhist Guide to Making the World a Better PlaceMelvin McLeod, EditorWith the holidays and the work I’m doing for other sites, I’ve had very little time to keep up my posting here, and that’s been frustrating not having time to voice my opinion about things. I have to take time away from all that for a few minutes to tell you about this book. I don’t care if you get it from bn.com or amazon.com or borrow it from some guy in the office, but get a hold of this book! I found this book completely on accident and it’s a good story. I was having a very bad day, but found a ten dollar bill laying on the floor with no one else around. I grabbed the bill and, later that day, missed my bus home. I had to take a detour to the Mall of America to catch another bus. While at the mall and waiting for my bus to arrive, I sat looking at the Eastern Spirituality section of a bookstore and saw that someone had left this book out of place on a shelf. I picked it up, leafed through it, and before I knew it, I had purchased the book. I can’t put it down! Here is a wonderful breath of political fresh air that I’d never have found had I not followed a series of opportunities to it’s end. The book is a series of essays by modern day Buddhist writers dealing with Western politics. That’s not to say one has to have any more than a passing interest in Buddhism to get something from the reading. This is a book that goes beyond partisan politics, left vs. right agendas, and so on. If you want to see an end to political violence, to antiethical society, to global warming and disregard for the environment, read this book. If you read one book on politics in 2007, let it be this book.

Cheers & happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

 
