Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Follow Up to the JET Interview

Posted by telecommatt on February 15, 2007

So the interview is done. It feels really good to have it behind me! I wasn’t petrified, but I was pretty nervous. It’s a lot to have on your mind to think that where I live for the next year and pretty much how I live the rest of my life all depends on how I come across in the next twenty minutes. Some people might say, well, not being a JET doesn’t change the way you live, but it does. Spending enough time in another culture to become a part of it changes your outlook. It like putting on a pair of colored shades. Everything is different because of that experience. I know because I’ve done this. And I’ve made decisions I never would have made had I not put on those shades. Some of those decisions I believe were the best decisions I’ve ever made and I never would have known had I not experienced something different from my own midwestern American point of view. To think of the possibilities I might never recognize if I don’t become a JET, I guess that is what really makes the interview so intense for me. But in the end, I think things went well. I have a month or more before I hear anything back, but if I went back and did it again I don’t think I could have done any better than I did. All that’s left is waiting.

Leave a Reply

 
