Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

A Blizzard of Environmental Issues

Posted by telecommatt on March 3, 2007

That has got to be the most cliche title I’ve ever used! Thursday we had a snowstorm in true Minnesota style. A little late in the season for my taste, but it was actually rather nice being stranded at my parent’s place for the day. Between bundling up to uncover the sidewalks and drive every few hours, it gave me the opportunity to collect a handful of articles on environmental issues. I rather think the articles speak for themselves, so I won’t fill space without a ton of commentary. I do want to call attention especially to the last article about schools banning smoking both inside and out. I can’t tell you how great a step I think this is for two reasons. First, the whole secondhand smoke bit is hugely overlooked. Not to be offensive, but I chose not to smoke for my own reasons, so why should I have to smoke your cigs when you’re standing next to me? Second, and this really, really pisses me off, why must smokers throw their spent cigarettes on the ground when they’ve finished? Seriously, do you think it’s going to pick itself up and throw itself in the trash? They don’t just go away and a half-rotted butt on the ground is an ugly thing! And so many college campuses are beautiful places where students go to class surrounded by greenery. I’ve done the college thing. I know how ingrained smoking is in the fabric of college life. To ban smoking on any college campus will be a challenge. I believe that they cause is a good one, for health, for the environment, for the beauty of our surroundings, and for any future children I may have.

US CO2 emissions ‘violate rights’

A delegation of Inuit has travelled to Washington to argue that the US government’s climate change policies violate human rights.

Push to make consumers adopt energy-saving bulbs

The world’s three largest light-bulb makers today said they will push European consumers to switch to energy-saving bulbs in a bid to cut carbon dioxide emissions that are believed to contribute to global warming.

Genome sequencing reveals key to viable ethanol production

As the national push for alternative energy sources heats up, researchers at the University of Rochester have for the first time identified how genes responsible for biomass breakdown are turned on in a microorganism that produces valuable ethanol from materials like grass and cornstalks.

U.S. colleges going smoke-free

College campuses across the United States are going smoke-free, banning cigarettes inside and out.

Leave a Reply

 
