Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

abarefootman.co.uk » Archive » Getting Somewhere, Doing Something

Posted by telecommatt on March 16, 2007

abarefootman.co.uk » Archive » Getting Somewhere, Doing Something

Just like the wheels on the bus, our minds go round and round. A thought arises, we attach to that thought, and it becomes a train of thought. Notice the use of modes of transport – the mind is always trying to get somewhere.

We do not need to be slaves to this “getting somewhere, doing something” mentality. Instead we can detach from thought, let those thoughts flow down the river into the distance.

I really like this post. I don’t know about you, but most days I need a reminder that I do not need to be taken to where ever my racing mind goes. If I choose, I can just sit down and watch my racing mind go by. As an info geek, I’m always thinking about where the next idea could take me. When someone says to me, “Let’s go here,” I’m already three steps ahead wondering what else is in the area that I could get done while I’m there. I hate watching TV because there are too many other things I might be missing on other channels. I sometime need to force myself to just sit and be with myself, and, as the author does, watch the traffic go by. Hope this is a good thought to start your weekend with!

3 Responses to “abarefootman.co.uk » Archive » Getting Somewhere, Doing Something”

  1. Lewis said

    So that’s how a pingback works is it?! Thanks for reading, Matt, and I appreciate the quoting. You’ve touched on perhaps the most difficult of aspects of the mind there – it’s the seemingly positive things that can be the hardest to let go of – an idea comes and so surely it would be crazy to let that go – a lost idea can feel like a terrible loss. But in the end, if it’s a real eureka moment you’ll know it, and if not, then you’ll probably have a similar idea again. The greatest enemy to the ability to let go of all the ideas that fire off in our heads [or at least, to be able to let go enough to concentrate only on the truly revolutionary ones], is a fear that we might not have any more good ideas. To adopt the habit of dropping thoughts instead of running with them constantly actually frees up considerable space and leads to far more creative thoughts than before, so we need not worry.

    Good luck keeping it real – in the words of Rabbi Hillel – “If not me, then who? And if not now, when?”

  2. Lewis,

    “…actually frees up considerable space and leads to far more creative thoughts than before, so we need not worry.”

    Those are very reassuring words. Thanks for visiting! Your blog has earned the prestigious i-went-through-the-bother-of-adding-it-to-my-mobile-feedreader award because I didn’t want to forget that I liked it 😉 I look forward to reading more.

    Cheers,

    Matt

  3. Lewis said

    Ah, then I am doubly-honoured Matt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
