Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Matt’s Cuppa Reviews Mobilcast by Melodeo

Posted by telecommatt on May 18, 2007

For about a month now, I’ve been playing with a mobile application by Melodeo called Mobilcast. Mobilcast streams podcasts to your mobile phone. These streams come to you as streaming data, allowing you to save your minutes, and your battery power, for things like calling people. (I use my phone for so many other things that I sometimes forget that it was actually designed for making phone calls.) My opinion so far is that this is a sweet little app! You’ll have to check the website to see if you’re phone is supported. My Samsung A920 seems to get along with it just fine. I’ve gotten used to installed apps loading and immediately crashing on this phone, but so far I’ve had no problems.

Mobilcast Logo

After registering on the website and setting up the application on my phone, it took about fifteen minutes to set up a list of “Favorites.” Using the “Search” feature gave me better results than scrolling through the limited list of pre-selected podcasts. I was very happy with the selection of available podcasts. I was able to find all of my usual shows with the exception of one.(Treehugger Radio, which is pretty hit-and-miss no matter what service you use.) There is a website component, which I have not spent much time with, that allows you to link you’re mobile “Favorites” to your account on the web.

The playback is surprisingly high quality. It won’t make you hang up your iPod, but for streaming data over a cellular network… wow! I expected the tinny sound of overly compressed audio accompanied by plenty of blips and stutters, symptoms of dropped packets. You’ll hear a stutter now and then, but for the most part it’s mp3 quality sound. The playback controls are intuitive, but if you forget how to pause your show, there is button map on screen. I really like that my phone’s volume control works within the application, and that playback continues even if I close the flip. This is great because I can pocket my phone and go. If you’re used to your iPod, it’s a bit inconvenient that you can’t rewind or fast forward [Edit: This appears to be a limitation of my phone, rather than of the application or service. See Rob’s comment below.], although you can skip to the next episode or pause your current episode. If you stop in the middle of an episode, even after quitting the app, starting the episode again will bring you to the point you that left off at.

Over the past few weeks, this application has made it onto my short list of essential mobile applications. I’ve come to love simple applications that focus on doing a few things very well. Mobilcast does just that. With it’s intuitive controls, large selection of available podcasts, and surprisingly good audio quality, I’m totally sold on Melodeo’s Mobilcast. Assuming your phone is supported, this is just an all-around good app to add to your mobile aresenal.

3 Responses to “Matt’s Cuppa Reviews Mobilcast by Melodeo”

  1. Matt, Great review of Mobilcast. I wanted to add a few things to your thoughts on Mobilcast since it is my full-time job to work on the Mobilcast project for Melodeo. I just got done adding TreeHugger Radio to our podcast inventory, so you should be able to add it to your My Favorite list within a couple of days.

    I also wanted to let you know that you can fast forward and rewind most of the podcasts offered in Mobilcast. The only ones you cannot are a few of the music track podcast streams as we have had to disable that ability to comply with Internet radio streaming rules.

    Also wanted to ask if you or any of your readers could take our new Mobilcast User Survey and give us some direct feedback about what you like and dislike about the application– http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.asp?u=702663852744

    Thanks, Rob Greenlee
    http://www.mobilcaster.com

  2. Rob,

    Thanks for posting your thoughts! I appreciate the clarification on the fast forward/rewind issue, and I look forward to catching up on my Treehugger episodes. Please don’t hesitate to keep me informed on any updates!

    Cheers,

    Matt

  3. nice posts i was looking for this you can find mobile reviews at my website also

Leave a Reply

 
