Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Matt’s Daily Diigo Post 06/27/2007

Posted by telecommatt on June 27, 2007

Playgreen – The wiki on green living Annotated

  • Ah, web2.0, collaboration, and environmental initiative- what a great combination! I swear I’ve bookmarked this already,but Diigo seems to think not.
    – post by telecommatt

Wiki green living!

  • Here, visitors are editors and reviewers
  • Anybody could improve the knowledge
  • Together, we’re building the biggest book on green living

Pownce Annotated

  • Thought this was noteworthy because the downloadable app uses Adobe AIR. If this service could interact with my Gmail address book, I’d be all over it. As it is, I’m sort of tired of having to redundantly enter my friends contact info into each new service I try.
    – post by telecommatt

The software is available right now for Windows and Mac users and will available for Linux soon too. It takes advantage of a new technology from Adobe called AIR, which is super useful.

Web Worker Daily » Blog Archive 4 Ways to Manage Your Personal Stack « Annotated

These days, genius is one percent attention and ninety-nine percent stack management.

  • While this is certainly true today, it was no less true years ago. One of my favorite techniques for productivity comes from the work ethic of one of the great steel magnates. I heard the story so long ago that I’ve forgotten the details , but the message remains imprinted in my mind. Basically, you draw up a list of your top ten things that need to be done. You cross out five. You circle three. And that’s what, at whatever cost, will get done today. If those three are completed, you move on to the rest of the five. If those are completed, you look at the next five, circle three and cross out two and apply the same process until those five are also done. I used this method throughout college, and, while my teachers may not have always agreed, I always felt confident about my priorities. – post by telecommatt

make sure that the less important stuff doesn’t get lost

  • I think that this may be the more difficult piece for many of us today. The sheer volume of information that we are confronted with now is nothing short of overwhelming. And each peice of information is important to the person who shared it with us. It’s a little like having to clear the snow off your sidewalk by classifiying and categorizing each snowflake as it falls. So how do we deal with this? I have over 780 bookmarks on Diigo, and hundreds more articles saved on Google Reader. It’s impossible not to lose some items of relevance. We have to be realistic about that. Another fact that we have to be realistic about is that some items will lose their relevance over time. We may not be abl to prioritize them at the time, but by the time they’ve come to the top of our stack, we’ve missed the opportunity to make them useful. Most of us don’t have a system in place to deal with these items at all. – post by telecommatt

we’ve covered 20 different ways to track them.

  • I think that the most important thing we can do with our list is to start crossing things off. This sounds rather, “Well, duh.” But I can personally attest to how much potentially productive time can go into finding the perfect method for creating and organizing one’s lists. There’s the threat of turning into list-fiends. We sit around endlessly organizing and perfecting our list-making techniques. We become experts on list theory. Our task are meticulously mapped out. But in this mode, we rarely get to actually cross something off one of our lists. Yes, it’s true that you have to find the method that works best for you, but if, in the meantime, you find one that sort of works, start using it! Start doing the stuff and crossing it off! I’m always amazed at how fulfilling it is to cross something off. – post by telecommatt

The goal of the GTD system is simple

  • I am an aspiring GTD’er. Actually, I don’t think anyone has perfected it’s use. I am drawn to it because of it’s simplicity. In particular, I find the use of “contexts” helpful. Contexts refer to where you need to be in order to do some task. Your tasks are assigned contexts- work, home, phone, computer, etc. When you are in a certain context, you look at your lists for tasks that can be accomplished while you are there. This is great because it means that no matter where you are, you can always be doing something that is productive. It really helps you plan your day as well. Knowing that you’ve got X number of things that can only be done in the office tells you how much of your day to devote to being in the office. It’s a killer time saver! – post by telecommatt

I find the tabbed browser interface to be one of the greatest inventions for stack management ever.

  • How did I ever live without a tabbed browser?! If I used tabs in the manner the author does, I’d constantly have at least 17 tabs open. I love tabs because there is certain information that I refer to constantly. The amount of time I have by keeping these open in another tab is huge. And it’s not just websites that you can keep open. You can easily create HTML pages that contain often referred to information or hyperlinks to often used files on your PC. I use Firefox as the central command center for my day, something that would have been impossible before browser tabs. – post by telecommatt

If you know you’re not going to need to work on something for a week or a month, get it out of your inbox and file it away.

  • I actually use Remember the Milk (RTM) for this. RTM is my to-do list manager. Highly recommended, check it out if you haven’t already. With RTM (some others do this as well) you can set a due date for a task. RTM can then send you a reminder before the task is due. For example, I get an SMS message each morning reminding me which tasks are due that day.
    – post by telecommatt
  • I’m surprised that the author does not mention tags as a way to help organize relevant information in your stack. My previously-mentioned 788 Diigo bookmarks would be a complete waste of time if I didn’t apply tags to each bookmark. Tagging makes it easy to filter my information, my stack, for a certain topic. Contexts in the GTD system are another use of tags. I can put together my list of items that need to be done today, but each item is tagged with a context that allows me to structure my day even more efficiently. As you may have guessed, my system relies heavily on tags. What I like about tags is that they allow you to organize your information without physically moving it. Emails, for example, stay in my inbox. If I’ve ever recieved an email, I know that they only place it will be is in my inbox. However, I can find that email easily because I tagged it with an appropriate label. Just like GTD, this approach doesn’t work of everyone, but like GTD, I without my tags I’d be hopelessly, nonproductively lost. – post by telecommatt

Leave a Reply

 
