Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Marshmallows and Meditation

Posted by telecommatt on July 12, 2007

I will be taking a short vacation this weekend, so no posts for the next few days. I’ll be tramping around the woods and listening to frogs. I’ve come to realize how important it is to take time out and go someplace that reminds us of why we love the world we’re in. It doesn’t have to be nature. It could be downtown Chicago or New York. It doesn’t really matter where, as long as we go someplace where we can release our old, stale, pent up energy and exchange it for something new and fresh. Everyone has their place where just breathing is exciting.

There’s a whole lot of psychology and physiology behind our response to being someplace that recharges us. It’s solid science that we can benefit both mentally and physically, but that’s all a bit beyond my expertise. What I know is that you have to let yourself respond to the place you’re in. If it’s someplace that recharges you, you have to acknowledge that, or it won’t help you at all. When I wander through the pine forests up north, I have to admit to myself that I want to walk away feeling fresh and recharged. I have to be willing to let go of all the crud that’s built up around me and willing to feel happy about being someplace special. That’s not easy to do. It requires letting our guard down, even if it’s just letting our guard down to ourselves.

Going away, leaving our routine, letting go of old energy and letting new energy takes its place– what we’re doing is really a sort of meditation. It’s an exercise in awareness, in stillness, in just being. What’s really cool is that you don’t even have to do anything; you just stop doing what you’re doing and let it happen.

So, like I said, there will be no posts this weekend because I’ll be taking a short vacation. I will be up north, sitting around the campfire, toasting marshmallows, and meditating.

Cheers!

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

 
