Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Google Shared Stuff = Instant Link Blog

Posted by telecommatt on September 21, 2007

Shared Stuff from telecommatt

The very first thing I read when I opened Google Reader this morning was this post by Demo Girl about Google’s new Shared Stuff feature. As you know, I’m all about link blogging, and Shared Stuff is all about instant link blog. I’m currently link blogging in two different places. I share RSS items of interest on another Google page. And web pages that are of interest I share on my Diigo home page.

That said, it will take a lot to make me change the way I’m doing things now, but I’m still going to give Shared Stuff a test ride. I’ll be sharing things I find throughout the next few days on my own Shared Stuff page. You can view my page here or subscribe via RSS here.

As always, Molly’s screencast does an excellent job of laying things out, so I encourage you to give it a watch. A few things I’ve noticed so far:

  • It’s slow. The Share button brings up a new window, which takes a few more seconds to load than I’d like. Not so good  if you want to tag and move on.
  • Too many new windows. The Share button opens a new window, and then if you want to preview your view your Shared page, that, too, opens in a new window. I’m using Firefox so I don’t have to deal with dozens of open windows.
  • Can’t change the page titles. There doesn’t seem to be a way to change the way Google displays the title of a Shared item. For example, Molly’s demo page shows up on my Shared Stuff as “Created by Camtasia Studio 4”. That’s not going to help me remember what I saved. I’d like to be able to change that to something more meaningful.
  • I’d like to see this combined with the Shared Items on my Google Reader. Seems a waste to have to maintain two Google pages, one for RSS items and one for web items. Not to mention, I’m going to have a terrible time remembering which Google page I used to share something if I’m trying to find it again.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One Response to “Google Shared Stuff = Instant Link Blog”

  1. Using Google Shared Stuff

    Last week Google launched a link sharing service, not unlike what many social bookmarking sites such as del.icio.us, furl, digg and magnolia is trying to do. Built on the same idea that makes these other services work, Google Shared Stuff is all about …

Leave a Reply

 
