Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Will The Real Gmail Mobile Please Stand Up?

Posted by telecommatt on October 19, 2007

Gmail Mobile Version 1.5 Not Lookin’ So Good

there appears to be drawbacks for every other feature that’s been added.

Gmail Mobile 1.5 got a lot of attention when it was released. I was quite excited to try it out. After using it for the past few days, however, I rather think I agree with Mashable’s Kristen Nicole. It’s not lookin’ so good. It’s not bad, it’s just not as good as the previous version. Since the upgrade install along side it’s predecessor, I was able to do a head to head comparison.

My biggest problem so far is load time. This, in particular, in getting on my nerves. I’m not just talking about data transfer time, I’m talking about starting the app, waiting for the Java splash screen to come up, eating a bowl of cereal, and then finally seeing the actually application GUI and a message telling that there’s data transfer happening. I’m also seeing the application hang for several minutes on exit. Don’t bother doing an uninstall/reinstall– you’ll still get the same results.

Both articles above mention that secure data transfer makes download slower. This hasn’t really been problematic for me. Even if it were, I think the encryption feature is worth a few seconds of staring at a blank screen. I keep meaning to turn off the pre-fetch feature because that really increases data download time, but I go through a tunnel on the train into work, so it’s nice to be able to read my mail when I don’t have a mobile signal.

I don’t have much use for seeing pictures of my contacts on my mobile handset. The Save for Later is like a mini Drafts folder that holds one message. As far as I’ve been able to tell, you can’t start a message on the handset and finish on a PC, but I could be wrong.

My verdict so far: Download it, try it out. But don’t uninstall the previous version of Gmail Mobile.

6 Responses to “Will The Real Gmail Mobile Please Stand Up?”

  1. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptGmail Mobile 1.5 got a lot of attention when it was released. I was quite excited to try it out. After using it for the past few days, however, I rather think I agree with Mashable’s Kristen Nicole. It’s not lookin’ so good. … […]

  2. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptWill The Real Gmail Mobile Please Stand Up? Posted by telecommatt on October 19th, … the previous version of Gmail Mobile. Posted in Google […]

  3. Joe said

    What phone are you using? Installed on phone memory or SD card?

  4. Hi Joe,

    I’m using my (somewhat) trusty Samsung A920 with the app installed in memory. No hacks or tweaks, just a native install. Have you tried 1.5? What phone/carrier? Opinion?

  5. JD said

    I don’t know, I still like to log right into the gmail website ffrom my Blackberry.

    I just want my info man, keep the bells and whistles!

    JD

  6. I think JD might have it right. I have to say, though, that Gmail Mobile 1.0 is one the best (free) mobile java apps out there. From form to function, I really like it!

Leave a Reply

 
