Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

ProQou Works To Reduce Your Junk Mail

Posted by telecommatt on October 25, 2007

ProQuo – free junk mail killer – Download Squad

The amount of junk sitting in most people’s mailbox, and then invariably their trash cans is sickening.

The other day, I got three different credit card offers in the mail. My wife got two. We also got two newspaper-like flyers full of ads for local companies, and an envelope addressed to my wife’s mother which turned out to be junk mail. And this was a pretty typical day for us.

Most days, nearly every piece of mail we receive goes straight into the recycling pile. It’s the least we can do for the planet. It would be far better had that piece of mail never been shipped to us, never been labeled, never been printed, and never been cut for paper. It’s far more than the old adage, “Save a tree” when you really look at the resources that have been wasted as soon as you toss that paper in the recycling. The final slap in Mother Nature’s face is when that collection of wasted resources that some company hopes will convince you to apply for another credit card is simply tossed into the trash.

I haven’t tried ProQou yet, and I’m not completely convinced that theirs is a revenue-generating business model, but I am going to try it out tonight. They claim a reduction in junk mail of 50%-90%. I’m not that optimistic, but any junk mail I’m not getting means resources I’m not wasting, and I’m happy about that.

2 Responses to “ProQou Works To Reduce Your Junk Mail”

  1. […] telecommatt put an intriguing blog post on ProQou Works To Reduce Your Junk Mail.Here’s a quick excerpt:The final slap in Mother Nature’s face is when that collection of wasted resources that some company hopes will convince you to apply for another credit card is simply tossed into the trash. I haven’t tried ProQou yet, … […]

  2. This is quite a hot info. I think I’ll share it on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

 
