Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Avoid Burnout by Changing Your Work Environment

Posted by telecommatt on November 12, 2007

Coping: Avoid Burnout by Changing Your Work Environment

If you’re on the brink of being burned out creatively, the simplest solution could just be to change your environment in some way.

I couldn’t agree more! I’ve learned over time that sometimes I need to take myself someplace outside my cube in order to complete some creative task. I’ll brainstorm in the breakroom or walk around the parking lot to plan a meeting. If you train yourself to recognize when your environment changes (and make sure you have a pen and paper) you can switch your creative trigger anytime you’re away from your desk. A trip down the hall to the restroom can be just enough of a spark to jumpstart your thought process by the time you return to your desk.

Leave a Reply

 
