Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Google Reader Gets A Little More Web 2.0 With Drag And Drop

Posted by telecommatt on November 30, 2007

Google announces Blogger and Google Reader updates – Download Squad

It’s a weekday, so we probably shouldn’t be surprised to see a couple of updates from the Google camp. There are two new features in Google Reader.

Google Reader, my feedreader of choice, gets a little more web 2.0 by adding personalized feed recommendations and drop and drop feed organization. I’m trying to keep my head above water with the feeds I currently have, so I think the recommendations feature is off limits for me, at least if I want to be able to do things like eat, sleep, breath, and see my wife, but I’m hyped about the drag and drop functionality. I’m actually really amused because earlier this week I was reorganizing my feeds and remember thinking to myself, "Wow, this would be so much easier if I could just drag my feeds around." In fact, I actually tried dragging a feed from one group to another, just to see what would happen. Obviously, absolutely nothing happened, because that feature didn’t materialize until today.

So, I’m a little spooked by Google’s ability to read my mind, but I’m really glad that they’ve done the drag and drop thing. It’s a much needed and rather overdue change to the GR interface.

Leave a Reply

 
