Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

My I Love eMusic Rant

Posted by telecommatt on December 5, 2007

The ground is now covered in snow and it’s about that time of year, so I’m trying to get into the holiday spirit. I headed over to eMusic to see if I could find some holiday music that wasn’t too kitchy-sounding. I’m a big fan of Celtic music, and this album seemed like it would make some pretty good background music for decorating the Christmas tree. (Or for cleaning the living room enough to make room for it…)

Problem is, I have 17 downloads left and it’s an 18 track album. When I first set up my eMusic account back in the web 1.33333333333333 days, you could buy Booster Packs which gave you something like 10 or 20 extra downloads that month. I checked the help section, with has this to say about Booster Packs:

Q: What if I want to download more tracks than I have in my subscription plan?

A: We recommend that you upgrade
to a subscription plan with more downloads to take advantage of the
lower per track download cost. If you’d prefer to make a one-time
purchase of extra tracks you can purchase a Booster Pack in Your Account. Note that Booster Pack downloads expire one year from the date of purchase.

Sounds to me like they still offer Booster Packs. So, back to my account page I go. Again, I don’t see them. In fact, as you can see in the screenshot below, I apparently can’t upgrade my music subscription at all. There’s simply nothing there to click on. In contrast, they make it very easy to upgrade my audiobook subscription. I can even get Booster Packs to purchase additional audiobooks. But no more music. I’ve been denied.

So here I am with a new Christmas album that’s missing a track. I’m crabby because eMusic’s FAQ lies. I’ve wasted the better part of an hour on what should have been a ten minute excursion. And it sucks even worse because I love eMusic! I’ve always been a huge eMusic fan. I love the DRM-free thing. I love the indie artists thing! I love the lack of a binding contract thing! All that makes me really upset that they’re pushing the audiobooks so hard to the detriment of some of the things that made eMusic so great from the beginning. And I’m definitely not really feeling that holiday spirit that started all this mess in the first place.

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 Responses to “My I Love eMusic Rant”

  1. Gatton said

    That sucks. I actually found this posting because I was googling for information on booster packs (after not being able to find them on emusic.) Oh well. My downloads refresh tomorrow so I’m not THAT bummed. Still it’s a shame that we love the site so much we want to give them MORE money and they won’t take it.

  2. Hungry T said

    I was able to add a booster pack today. Near the bottom of the Upgrade page, there was a link to “View All Upgrade Options.” Booster packs are listed there, at the bottom….

  3. Gatton, I agree one hundred percent!

    Hungry T, I just went back to the View All Upgrade Options page and still have no boosters for music, gust for audio books. I’m on an annual plan. Maybe that makes a difference??

  4. itsalljustaride said

    I know this entry is pretty old, but I’d just like to second the feeling that eMusic really needs someone to think long and hard about how they do some of their website design. The search function is nearly useless since it bombards you with thousands of “sort of similar” hits, that aren’t even in alphabetical order. Listing them in alphabetical order would at least give me SOME sanity when I do a search.

Leave a Reply

 
