Matt\’s Cuppa

My take on tea, technology, and our environment

Unlock Your Car Door With Your Cell Phone

Posted by telecommatt on July 31, 2007

This sounds too cool to be true! I found this on the website of a reader here and I can’t decide if it’s straight out of Star Trek or a Monty Python skit. I totally need someone to debunk this! I like the idea though. If someone can come up with the science behind this, the please please send it my way!

Mobile Secrets – Nokia, Sony, SamSung, Lg Cell Phone Secrets

Subject: Have you locked your keys in the car? Does your car have remote keys?
This may come in handy someday. Good reason to own a cell phone: If you lock your keys in the car and the spare keys are at home, call Someone at home on their cell phone from your cell phone. Hold your cell phone about a foot from your car door and have the person at your.
home press the unlock button, holding it near the mobile phone on their end. Your car will unlock. Saves someone from having to drive your keys to you. Distance is no object. You could be hundreds of miles away, and if you can reach someone who has the other “remote” for your car, you can unlock the doors (or the trunk).

Editor’s Note: It works fine! We tried it out and it unlocked our car over a cell phone!”

Powered by ScribeFire.

29 Responses to “Unlock Your Car Door With Your Cell Phone”

  1. Shoshi said

    Or unlock your car door using only your hand:

    Definitely, the cracked-out, highly questionable cousin of the cell phone solution.

  2. Shosi,

    Nice find! I think I’ll pass on this– Maybe I’m not cool or something, but I think I’ll just keep my keys in my pocket instead.

  3. dylan said

    this reallyworks. its cool to. i was really surprized though. i thought thhat the car wouldent responed to the cell phone , but i guess it did.

  4. Dylan,

    You’ve got to be kidding! I was sure someone would write me or comment in that this was all bullocks, but so far no one has. And now you say it really works. I think I may have to go and try this myself now. What I want to know is, “How’s it do that??”

    Thanks a ton for the comment!

    Cheers,

    Matt

  5. For real?? Now this. This is something I have to check out for myself to believe. Should make a good segment for The Myth Busters

  6. xeion said

    i tryed but it does nt work
    what wrong i did

    i have a mercedes but it does not happen i mean it does not open the lock
    with the cell phone

  7. Uh-oh! It seems about half the people who have contacted me say it works and half say they’ve tried and it does not. I’d like to see Myth Busters do this one, just because if it works I want to know how it works! (Even though nothing explodes…)

  8. jeff moss said

    this is definitely worth looking into.

  9. Horsepoo

  10. Could be. What baffles me is that this remains one of the most searched for posts on this blog.

    Cheers,

    Matt

  11. justin said

    what baffels me is that its completely impossible on almost every car made yet you have two people saying it works, well it dont, it cant they use two separate signals and the key code can not be transmitted though a cell phone in radio waves. search it on line and you will find out

  12. Justin,

    I still haven’t tried, but I admit I’m pretty skeptical. What baffles me is that this is still one of my most searched for posts.

    Cheers,

    Matt

    BTW – Make sure you update your bookmarks to point to Matt’s Cuppa’s new domain: http://www.mattscuppa.com

  13. Andy James said

    Na I saw this posted on another site I think its one of those rumors that spreads around the internet but never works! Although if it worked it would be very cool!

  14. Arthur said

    I have not tried this yet but will soon. let me ask this to those who say they have tried it and it works… when you try this, are you within the distance of your remote required to unlock your car? If so, you are just unlocking it with the remote. The only way to try this is to park your car around the block so your remote can not pick up the signal, most pick signal up within 50 feet, so park far enough away and then try to unlock the car with the cell phone. If it still works that is great no more paying for tow truck service to unlock car, could be a real money saver. Let me know if this really works.

  15. Arthur said

    To those of you who say it does not work…Does the spare remote have a good battery or is it dead? Are you using the correct remote? Just wondering, if half say it works and half say it does not, hmmmmmm. I must try this. Even my dads friend said he tried it and it worked only him and his wife tried it out front at their house which leads me to my last post about being within the distance for the remote to work.

  16. Nikki Killick said

    It doesn’t work, we tried it on on BMW, FORD & VW – and nothing- sorry guys one for Mythbusters

  17. Marc David said

    I have to say…I work in high tech in Silicon Valley. I understand the technical issues why it shouldn’t work. One of my friends tried it on his 2001 BMW M5 and says it worked from a mile away. I just tried it on my wifes 2004 RAV4 and it worked. One of the things my buddy told me is that his Palm and Iphone worked, and that another cheap phone did not. I was using my Razor and my wife signed through her EnV.

    I would really like to understand why it worked because logic states that it will not.

  18. The Hold Steady – Stay Positive…

    The Hold Steady – Stay Positive…

  19. lisa said

    I don’t know how it works but we tried it and it AND IT WORKED FOR US! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Jon said

    I have tested this myself (on a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee and a 2004 BMW M3) and I have found out why some work and some do not. The Jeep did not work because it uses an infared signal, which cannot be sent via radio waves, but the M3 worked due to the fact that it’s signal is an extremely high radio frequency. Therefore it depends on which type your brand uses.

  21. nokia samsung motorola LG alcatel sony ericsson

  22. Good and relevant post.I have

  23. Jamie said

    Thanks for the blog post! Have a great morning! -Jamie Dolan- Neenah, WI

  24. You clearly have read a lot on this subject…quite informative..thanks for posting

  25. mobile phones that have built in cameras are my favorite because they can capture those special moments and events :’`

  26. Nice post. I study one thing on totally different blogs everyday. It should always be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice just a little something from their blog.

  27. I just love this blog ๐Ÿ™‚ here’s a little payback (offtopic maybe but funny!)

    Character is what you are. Reputation is what people think you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Hey there I am so grateful I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I donโ€™t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  29. I like your blog and I believe it truly adds to the society. I want to share with you this techno and tech house playlist that I found on Spotify. http://spoti.fi/2v7a0MA I believe you and your readers would like it.

Leave a comment